Organizations, Accounts and Users are the core data within Vitally. All other information that is pulled into Vitally will be associated with an Organization, Account, and, potentially, an individual User. Some of these other data points are:
Revenue
Events
Activity
NPS
Etc..
If you have multiple data sources with different information regarding your Organizations, Accounts and Users, Vitally will use the 'external ID' outlined above to consolidate these various traits under one complete 360° Organization, Account, or User profile.
Organization, Account, and User data is most commonly synced through the following integrations:
FAQ
Q: I deleted an Account, Organization, or User in Vitally but they reappeared in Vitally, why?
A: Deleted records in Vitally may reappear if they are still active in integrated external systems, such as Customer Relationship Management (CRM) tools. These integrations act as sources of truth, and if an account is deleted in Vitally but still exists or is active in the connected system (e.g., Hubspot or Salesforce), the integration will recreate it during synchronization. To ensure accounts deleted in Vitally do not reappear:
Delete or deactivate the account in the system integrated with Vitally.
Modify your import filter settings in external systems to exclude the account so it no longer matches synchronization criteria.
Q: If I delete an Account or Organization and they are recreated because they use my product, will Vitally historically backfill traits or trends for a success metric associated to that account?
A: No. That Organization or Account will start from scratch and appear as a new customer. When an account is deleted in Vitally, all data associated with it will also be removed. This includes:
Trait values and success metrics
Event tracking and health scores
Key role designations
Notes and tasks related to the account. However, users linked to the account will not be deleted unless they are exclusively associated with the deleted account. If the users have already been reassigned to the correct accounts and the original account is empty, deleting it will not affect these user profiles.
Q: A User that is not associated to an Account is ignored, why is this happening?
A: If a User is synced in without an Account association, they are considered Orphan Users. If after 48 hours it is not associated to an Account, it will become ignored until it's associated. To manage Orphan Users effectively, ensure that users tied to accounts being deleted are reassigned to the relevant master accounts before deleting any organization or account data and ensure that your integration sources are sending account or organization associations appropriately. This prevents users from being left unassociated or ignored unnecessarily. Ignored users do not appear in the user interface but can still be found through search. If an orphaned user is later associated with an account or organization, they will no longer be ignored.
Q: Previously ignored users are appearing on accounts, why is this happening?
A: Previously ignored users may appear on accounts if they are later associated with accounts, either manually, or if an association is sent from an integration. Support can assist with bulk deleting users via CSV. You can also update your user track rules to ignore unwanted users.
