⚡️ Other integrations

Playbook FAQs

How do I ensure my playbook only applies once?

Do you have a playbook that you only want to run once, but find that customers are re-entering the playbook once they meet your criteria a second time? Read on.

There are quite a few scenarios we’d want an account to only run through a playbook once, but for simplicity, let’s say we’re running an onboarding playbook. We only want our customers to receive our drip of automated onboarding emails once, and that’s all they will ever need. To do this, we’ll be using custom traits, along with the playbook’s action to ‘auto-update’ a custom trait.

Step 1:

Create a custom trait that describes the state your customers are in either when they enter the playbook, or when they exit the playbook.

In our example, accounts have completed onboarding once they run through this playbook, and until then, onboarding is not complete.

To show this in a custom trait, we could create a trait for ‘Onboarding Status.’ We can make this trait a string (you could also use a boolean trait here), and make one option for Complete . Once the customer completes all the actions in our onboarding playbook, we’ll auto-set this trait’s value to Complete:

Step 2:

Add your custom trait to your existing set of playbook rules, making sure that the entering criteria for this trait is not the value we want our account to have when they exit this playbook. (Note: if you have and/or combinations in your criteria, you’ll want to put them in a filter group)

So, in this example, we will add a rule for Onboarding Status is not complete

Step 3:

Keeping your existing actions the same, you’ll want to add a step on the last day of the playbook to auto-set the custom trait to the converse of your trait’s entering criteria.

In this example, we will set our trait to Onboarding Status is complete:

Step 4:

Set your playbook live, and you are good to go!

Note there is a caveat here: if you manually edit this custom trait to it’s initial entering state, there is a chance your account could re-enter the playbook.